RMIT PCPM News

School of Property, Construction & Project Management

Women Building Futures: Alumni Profile: Sarah Walker

sarahwalker

An interview with Sarah Walker – Alumni of the Property and Valuation Undergraduate degree.

Where are you working now?

“Sutherland Farrelly”

What is your role and what activities does your role entail on a daily basis?

“Assistant Valuer”

What was your favourite part of your degree?

“I liked that it was broad in terms of career outcome.”

What do you like best about your role?

“Learning something new everyday!”

What attracted you to your role?

“The company itself and a career in valuations.”

What is most important to you when looking for a job?

“The company itself, career progression within company and learning opportunities. Also the fact that I could tell the company invested in teaching people properly (It didn’t matter that I had no work experience in valuations).”

Tell us about your career journey so far.

“I finished my degree at the end of 2014, I have been working at Sutherland Farrelly as an Assistant Valuer since May 2015.”

Tell us about the challenges and triumphs you have faced as a female in a male-dominated industry

“In my interview I was asked if I was comfortable with a company that is mostly males- it does not bother me. I think perhaps I was chosen for the job because I was female and the perception is that we are harder working. Also as a valuer for my company I do a lot of child care valuations and being a female is definitely an advantage. Childcare centers are more receptive to a female looking around. The industry is certainly changing and there is a lot more females now. Commercial Sales is seen as a male dominated environment which I would like to see change!”

If you could say one thing to young females looking to enter the industry – what would it be?

“I have never limited or altered my perception for my career in terms of being a female. Previously I studied architecture which was also male dominated but never phased me. If I want to work somewhere I would, even if everyone working there was male.”

Anything else you would like to share?

“A mentor of a top tier property company told me once that I have the edge over everyone else being female as companies are looking to balance.”

Leave a Reply

