RMIT PCPM News

School of Property, Construction & Project Management

Women Building Futures: Student Profile: Holly Grimes

An interview with Holly Grimes – Student of the Construction Management Undergraduate degree.

Where are you working now?

PlanCost Australia”

What is your role and what activities does your role entail on a daily basis?

I am a trainee Quantity Surveyor, I prepare cost plans/estimates for a range of projects, from small residential, to large commercial. I also do contract admin work for projects undergoing construction.”

What was your favourite part of your degree?

Besides the University life and friends I have made I have really enjoyed learning about the Construction and Property Industry as a whole.”

What do you like best about your role?

I especially enjoy working on the high end architectural houses.”

What attracted you to your role?

I began just as a casual job for some extra money, but I found myself so interested and eager to learn more I knew I was in the right industry”

What is most important to you when looking for a job?

The atmosphere and expectations of the office, although this is a fast paced industry, I cannot see myself working 60 hour weeks and preventing myself from having a life. I want to be able to enjoy the work I do.”

Tell us about your career journey so far.

I started working at the family business casually for some extra money, after travelling and seeing the world I came back and I knew I had to keep going in this industry, whether it were at the same company as a quantity surveyor or in any field of the Construction Industry,”

Tell us about the challenges and triumphs you have faced as a female in a male-dominated industry

While my workplace is male dominated 80/20% I have not found any challenges here, all the people at PlanCost are very modern thinkers and have never treated me differently to anybody else. I have found challenges at University, males in particular are always very surprised when I tell them what I am studying. And they will generally tell me that an admin job is much more suited as I will not be taken seriously on site as a manager. I usually don’t say anything or mind because I know I am as capable as they are and will do whatever job I set my mind to.”

If you could say one thing to young females looking to enter the industry – what would it be?

Don’t listen to what anyone else says, you know your ability.”

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 11, 2016 by and tagged , , , , , , , .
