RMIT PCPM News

School of Property, Construction & Project Management

Women Building Futures: Student Profile: Kaitlyn Auchterlonie

An interview with Kaitlyn Auchterlonie – Student of the Construction Management Undergraduate degree.

Where are you working now?

Cockram Construction”

What is your role and what activities does your role entail on a daily basis?

I am currently in an Undergraduate Estimating position where I support the estimating team assisting in retrieving quotations from subcontractors and helping out with other tasks when they require so.”

What was your favourite part of your degree?

My degree allowed me to travel to New Zealand as an elective , where I studied the impacts of earthquakes on the built environment. This opportunity was not only memorable but highly educational as I was able to see Construction in practice first hand and talk to others in my career field. The School of Property, Projects and Construction Management also has several other study tour opportunities which I look forward to attending.”

What do you like best about your role?

My current role allows me to apply my learning to real circumstances, as well as setting me up with the vital connections I will need down the track and improving my communications skills which will hold me in good steed for future prospects.”

What attracted you to your role?

Like many Undergraduate roles my role serves as an investment to my education and I am enjoying the flexibility of studding alongside working in the industry.”

What is most important to you when looking for a job?

Flexibility with my studies was a great decider when choosing a job, as I wanted the job to compliment my studies and put me in good steed for future prospects rather than hinder and distract me from my studies.”

Tell us about your career journey so far.

I was employed at the end of my second year of university and have enjoyed seeing projects in their very first stages, I have assisted in the tendering stages of many such projects and been able to visit many of Cockrams current sites.”

Tell us about the challenges and triumphs you have faced as a female in a male-dominated industry

Personally I have faced no challenges due to my gender in the construction industry. I feel like the Construction Industry has evolved and is no longer inaccessible to females, so there should be nothing holding back other females wanting to join such an industry.”

If you could say one thing to young females looking to enter the industry – what would it be?

Females should follow their interests, whether a particular workforce has several females or few. Such trivial matters should play no importance to such a major life decision such as career path.”

 

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 11, 2016 by and tagged , , , , .
