RMIT PCPM News

School of Property, Construction & Project Management

Women Building Futures: Alumni Panel Member Announced: Priscilla Lodge

stocklandnet_u108407_MThumb

We are very pleased to announce that Priscilla Lodge will be part of our Alumni Panel on the day. Priscilla will share her story with us on stage. Here is a snippet of Priscilla’s story:

An interview with Priscilla Lodge – Alumni of the Property and Valuation Undergraduate degree.

Where are you working now?

“Stockland”

What is your role and what activities does your role entail on a daily basis?

Development Graduate. I work closely with our Victorian regional manager who oversees four of our major residential communities. Daily tasks include tracking and analysing settlements and stage productions, assisting with our wholesale strategy coordinating offshore sales, involvement with government and stakeholder relations through items such as Plan Melbourne, and tasks at a project specific level such as planning Vision Centres, conducting pricing strategies and analysing lot mix.”

What was your favourite part of your degree?

I enjoyed the practical approach our course took to learning. From ‘real life’ examples to a range of diverse industry guest speakers, through to a variety of different site visits, I always felt engaged with the world outside of the four walls of the university. This enabled a smooth transition into a role in the industry. I also really valued the constant job opportunities offered through the Employer of Choice Program.”

What do you like best about your role?

The diversity in what I do; my undergrad role was on a rotational program and this enabled me to be involved with all parts of our business. Now in a permanent grad role, I am set in the residential business however I am still constantly exposed to a range of areas and tasks and this ensures I am always expanding my knowledge base. The culture at Stockland is brilliant and I also enjoy the great relationships I have with the talented people I am fortunate to learn from.”

What attracted you to your role?

I’ve always been interested in property for as long as I remember and loved combing through the real estate sections of the newspaper and going to opens and auctions with my Dad from a young age. In my first few years at university I worked for a property group that had a development arm as well as sales and leasing and this sparked my interest in property development. I’m not someone who can sit behind a desk all day every day and I was attracted to the hands on nature of development combined with the maths and analytical elements which I also enjoy.”

What is most important to you when looking for a job?

Companies that offered a rotational program were very appealing to me as it meant I could maximise my exposure to the industry without being ‘pigeon holed’ so early on in my career. I was also leaning more towards development rather than valuations so this was a strong factor in looking at prospective roles. A company with a positive culture that invests in the training of its graduates was also very important to me and Stockland has exceeded all expectations with regard to this.”

Tell us about your career journey so far.

In my first few years at university, I worked in reception at various real estate agencies and then moved into a part time property management role. Whilst these roles weren’t necessarily aligned to the content we were studying at uni and the direction I knew I wanted to take, it was still a great opportunity to get my foot in the door of the world of property and begin developing my network in such a large and multifaceted industry. As I mentioned above, it was during this time that I was exposed to property development and thus began my interest in this field. In 2014 I successfully applied for the Stockland Ervin Graf Scholarship and worked at Stockland throughout 2015 as the Victorian Undergraduate Scholar. At the end of 2015 upon graduating from university, I transitioned into my current role as a Development Graduate, working in Stockland’s residential business division in Victoria.”

Tell us about the challenges and triumphs you have faced as a female in a male-dominated industry

To be honest, I am yet to experience any type of different treatment as a female in a male-dominated industry and have only had positive experiences to date. I have found if you work hard, and are a strong team player you will be recognised for this, rather than for your gender. I am incredibly fortunate to work for a company that is so heavily invested in workplace diversity.”

If you could say one thing to young females looking to enter the industry – what would it be?

Go for it – don’t let your gender define you in a negative way, rather use it as a positive point of difference. Your colleagues will notice your work ethic and contributions to the team before they will notice your gender so focus on this instead.”

Anything else you would like to share?

Don’t ever think a job or a scholarship is out of your reach. As cliched as it is, you’ll never know unless you apply and even if you aren’t successful, any application experience is valuable.”

Read more about the International Women’s Day event: Women Building Futures: Careers in Property, Construction and Project Management here:

 

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 17, 2016 by and tagged , , , , , , , , .
