RMIT PCPM News

School of Property, Construction & Project Management

Women Building Futures: Alumni Panel Member Announced: Jamie Bradbury

JBradbury

We are very pleased to announce that Jamie Bradbury will be part of our Alumni Panel on the day. Jamie will share her story with us on stage. Here is a snippet of Jamie’s story:

An interview with Jamie Bradbury – Alumni of the Project Management Undergraduate degree.

Where are you working now?

Aurecon”

What is your role and what activities does your role entail on a daily basis?

I am a project manager for Australian Defence projects. My roles ranges from basic project administrative tasks, to stakeholder engagement, tender evaluation and contract management. The project I am currently working on is a large $210M project upgrading medical facilities across 10 Australian Defence bases.”

What was your favourite part of your degree?

Learning about tools and techniques used to manage the interdependencies of complex projects and applying our skills to real scenarios. Everything within the project management degree is absolutely transferable to real project work”

What do you like best about your role?

The support and collaboration within Aurecon. We have a large team of people with different skills and experiences. It makes it very easy to find out what I need to know and develop and advance my career”

What attracted you to your role?

Working for a leading global consulting organisation, I am exposed to a wide variety of projects, varying in different sizes and complexities. It keeps the work very interesting and engaging.”

What is most important to you when looking for a job?

“A supportive environment. I think work-life balance is of utmost importance and to ensure you are working in an environment that will facilitate that lifestyle. Particularly when you may be required to be flexible due to client requirements”

Tell us about your career journey so far.

I am fresh out of university. I graduated December 2015. Fortunately, throughout my degree I was able to gain experience, doing project administrative work for a small construction company in Essendon and boutique project consulting firm in Hawthorn. I was also an active volunteer for PMI, collaborating with other project professionals to gather information for the monthly newsletter for the Melbourne Chapter. This enabled me to really expand my network, and I was able to get some really valuable references. I also did some volunteer work for RMIT, promoting my experience as every job and opportunity I have obtained to date have been via my RMIT connections. At the Big Meet in 2015 I met with Aurecon’s HR manager. I had followed the company since starting my degree and was really interested in becoming part of their graduate program. Fortunately for me I seemed to have made an impression, and was offered a job later that year. I started work in January this year, and the amount of experience I have already been able to obtain in this last month has been invaluable.”

Tell us about the challenges and triumphs you have faced as a female in a male-dominated industry

I found it hard to get people to understand my skills, and why they would be more beneficial in the roles I applied for. In my first project role working as a project administrator within a small construction company I struggled to advance my career. The person I worked for didn’t value my project knowledge, and felt threatened when I tried to put suggestions forward. Fortunately my experience from there was nothing but positive, as both companies really valued the difference women can bring to project management, particularly when it comes to eye for detail and stakeholder engagement.”

If you could say one thing to young females looking to enter the industry – what would it be?

Be yourself. I was a little afraid to show how feminine I really am in my first role. I wore more masculine clothing hoping to fit in. I was very fortunate to meet some female volunteers who really showed me the benefits of being yourself that there are real benefits for organisations to have that diversity of men and women working on projects”

Anything else you would like to share?

“The project I am working on now is predominantly women. Whilst this is a reasonably rare occasion, it is becoming more common for females to take a leading role in project management.”

Read more about the International Women’s Day event: Women Building Futures: Careers in Property, Construction and Project Management here:

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 18, 2016 by and tagged , , , , , , , , .
