RMIT PCPM News

School of Property, Construction & Project Management

Women Building Futures: Alumni Profile: Giulia Berto

Giulia.PNG

An interview with Giulia Berto – Alumni of the Project Management undergraduate degree.

Where are you working now?

“JLL – within the Project & Development Services team”

What is your role and what activities does your role entail on a daily basis?

“I am working as a Senior Project Engineer with JLL predominately on commercial fit-out projects. My role covers the entire project lifecycle – from developing a concept plan with the client, working through detailed design with a consultancy team, tendering of each trade package, managing construction, the program and budget all the way to project close out.”

What was your favourite part of your degree?

“I really enjoyed the social aspect of my degree. The subjects are diverse and enables you to collaborate with a variety of other students.”

What do you like best about your role?

“I enjoy working with a variety of clients and seeing projects come to life during construction. I also enjoy working with a supportive team who I can learn from.”

What attracted you to your role?

“I was attracted to the role as it gave me exposure to each stage of the project life cycle and the opportunity to develop the skills I developed at RMIT.”

What is most important to you when looking for a job?

“Understanding the growth and the career pathways available is always very important. Also, making sure your day to day work is exciting and keeps you challenged and engaged.”

Tell us about your career journey so far.

“I started working in the industry during my 4th year at RMIT with a boutique construction company focusing on commercial projects out at Melbourne Airport. 1 year into the job and I was made redundant… this was shocking and heartbreaking at the time. After a few months off travelling I came back to the challenge of job searching. After receiving an award from RMIT at the annual awards night I met my future manager from JLL. A few months later I started as a Site Engineer within the Project & Development Services department of JLL. 3 years & 2 promotions later, I am currently a Senior Project Engineer managing my own clients and projects with the support of a fantastic team.”

If you could say one thing to young females looking to enter the industry – what would it be?

“PERSISTANCE – It pays off! Never let anybody make you feel like you are nagging or asking a silly question. Most of the time I have found that ‘silly’ question was on everybody’s mind in the room.”

Anything else you would like to share?

“RMIT provided me with the foundations and skillset I build upon every day.”

Read more about the International Women’s Day event: Women Building Futures: Careers in Property, Construction and Project Management here:

 

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 1, 2016 by and tagged , , , , , , , , .
