RMIT PCPM News

School of Property, Construction & Project Management

Student Profile: Ilona Nair

aaeaaqaaaaaaaaemaaaajdezntrmztkxltmxzwetndzmos1iztk3ltbkzduwode1ngnjzg

Interview with  Master of Property student Ilona Nair

What did you study as an undergraduate student and where did you study?

“Master of Economics and Real Estate, Cracow University of Economics, Cracow, Poland”

What motivated you to undertake further study at postgraduate level?

“I would like to have an Australian degree to help me in the future career.”

What inspired you to study in your chosen area?

“I am working as a Property Manager and would like to progress my career in Real Estate.”

Why did you choose to study at RMIT?

It offers one of the best Property Programs”

What has been the highlight of your studies? Tell me about 2 or 3 of the best things about your time at RMIT.

“Great facilities, modern and user-friendly, good location and easy access to Uni, very good teachers, I am learning a lot of practice, not only theory.”

What skills / qualities have you gained from your degree/program?

“Skills in Property Valuation and knowledge about Property Law.”

Tell me about a project, assignment or piece of work that you have accomplished while at RMIT that you are proud of.

“I have recently completed a valuation of the property I am currently living in. It was time consuming but challenging and fun.”

What advice do you have for students considering postgraduate study?

“Think of what you want to do in the future, don’t rush into it and choose wisely. Perhaps start working in that filed first to get a feeling of the industry.”

How has RMIT prepared you for a future career?

“It will give me relevant qualifications, for example I can start working as a Property Valuer.”

Are you currently working in a field relevant to your degree/program – what has been your greatest achievement at work to date?

“I do work as a Property Manager but I do not use the gained knowledge at work (at least not yet).”

What are your plans for the next three years? Work, further study, travel etc.

“I would like to get into Property Development and start working in that field soon. “

Where do you hope your degree will take you (your dream job)?

“Property Development Manager and then hopefully I can do Property Developments on my own.”

What are three words that describe you?

“1. ambitious, 2. diligent, 3. fun”

Finish the following sentence: I love what I do because….

“I work with people and I can make a difference in people’s lives.”

Do you have any other information or stories that you’d like to share – anything exciting we should know about?

“I am originally from Poland and have been living in Australia for the past 6 years. When I arrived here, I started working in Lufthansa Airlines call centre and progressed to Team Leader role. Since 3 years I am working as a Property Manager. I love hiking and skiing. I have recently hiked Mt Kosciuszko.”

Image: Ilona Nair

 

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on October 24, 2016 by and tagged , , , , , , .
