RMIT PCPM News

School of Property, Construction & Project Management

Women Building Futures: Alumni Panel Member Announced: Isabel Ley

iley

We are very pleased to announce that Isabel Ley will be part of our Alumni Panel on the day. Isabel will share her story with us on stage. Here is a snippet of Isabel’s story:

An interview with Isabel Ley – Alumni of the Project Management Undergraduate degree.

Where are you working now? 

Jetstar Airways”

What is your role and what activities does your role entail on a daily basis?

My current role is a Project Manager at Jetstar in Operations Improvement.
My role sees me work on a broad range of initiatives across the Jetstar business. There is no average day for me; I have different tasks that I’m responsible for during each project. These could include coordinating Steering Committee meetings with Senior Leadership, leading Working Group meetings and spending time air-side during site visits at airports around the Jetstar network. Every day varies, and I tend to travel a lot.”

What was your favourite part of your degree?

I was attracted to RMIT and the Project Management degree for a number of reasons. For me, it was important to develop practical as well as theoretical skills, and RMIT’s Project Management degree has an excellent reputation for learning via a hands-on approach. I was also drawn to RMIT for its strong relationships with industry experts. RMIT offered exceptional networking opportunities, and the relationships I developed while studying have helped me significantly through my career to date.”

What do you like best about your role?

I love that no day is the same and that the projects I work on are so diverse. I am fortunate to have worked on milestone projects ranging from the new Terminal 4 launch at Melbourne Airport to helping operations teams prepare for the busiest period in Jetstar’s history over December-January when we flew more than three million people.”

What attracted you to your role?

I joined Jetstar for two reasons; the culture and the experience. Jetstar has a great fast-paced culture and is filled with people ready to give things a go. I was also drawn to my role for the experience it would give me. It was a great bridge between construction and aviation and was an opportunity that wasn’t going to present itself again anytime soon.”

What is most important to you when looking for a job?

I always consider what can I bring to the role and what will I learn. For me, learning new skills is what keeps me interested in a role. I feel that when you become too comfortable, it’s time to find the next opportunity.”

Tell us about your career journey so far.

I’ve been very fortunate in my career to date. Project Management equips you with skills that a transferable across industries. I’ve had the opportunity to work in both the Construction Industry as well as the Aviation Industry.”

Tell us about the challenges and triumphs you have faced as a female in a male-dominated industry 

My first challenge was before I even got my first job. I went for a role at a large construction organisation, where I was told they only employ engineers. Rather than be disheartened I continued the conversation with the HR manager and another more senior opportunity presented itself. After this meeting with the HR manager, I was sent through the position description which I just happened to review at the time with my mum. My mum made the comment that this seemed a bit too senior for someone who hadn’t even graduated. It was at this point that I recalled a lecture from earlier that semester where it was mentioned females tend to wait to tick all the boxes before applying for a role, while their male counterparts will go for it. This exact thought went through my mind at the time and I applied for the role and subsequently got it. This experience taught me to back myself and helped fuel my drive to learn in each role that I go for.”

If you could say one thing to young females looking to enter the industry – what would it be?

Back yourself. You need to trust your judgement as it’s got you to where you are today.”

________________________________

Read more about the International Women’s Day event: Women Building Futures: Careers in Property, Construction and Project Management here:

 

Leave a Reply

